NLU Delhi Begins Registrations For AILET 2024; Introduces Changes, Launches New PhD Degree

User Profile Image

By Education Today

Posted on August 21, 2023


2 min read

Whatsapp Facebook LinkedIn

The National Law University (NLU), Delhi is inviting applications for All India Law Entrance Test (AILET) 2024 for admission into its BA LLB (Hons), LLM and PhD programmes for the 2024-2025 admission cycle. Interested candidates can register at the official website — — by paying the application fee of Rs 3500.

Applications for the AILET 2024 are due on November 13, 2023. The AILET 2024 will be held on December 10 between 11 am and 1 pm, according to the official timetable. On November 20, the admit cards will be made available for this.

This year, NLU Delhi has made changes in the exam pattern for LLM and PhD programmes (2024), and has introduced PhD degrees in Social Sciences (2024) for the first time.

The primary modification is that starting immediately, AILET will last two hours (120 minutes), as opposed to the previous standard of 1.5 hours for batch 2024 of all programs, including BA LLB (Hons), LLM, and PhD. Additionally, the entrance exams will exclusively consist of multiple-choice questions (MCQs). 100 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) totaling 100 total marks will make up the test paper. Each of the 100 MCQs will cover a different area of law.

For 2024, NLU Delhi will begin offering a PhD in social sciences, including political science, sociology, criminology, economics, and English. There will be 100 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) in the PhD admission exam, each worth one mark. Of these, 50 will be about research methodology. The final 50 MCQs for the PhD in Law will be drawn from various legal specialties. The remaining 50 MCQs for the PhD in social sciences will be drawn from various social science subfields.

AILET will be conducted at the following cities: Bengaluru, Bilaspur (Chhattisgarh), Bhopal, Chandigarh, Chennai, Cochin, Cuttack, Dehradun, Delhi, Gandhinagar, Ghaziabad, Greater Noida, Gurugram, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jabalpur, Jaipur, Jammu, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kolkata, Kota, Lucknow, Madurai, Mumbai, Nagpur, Patna, Pune, Raipur, Ranchi, Thiruvananthapuram, Shimla, Siliguri, Varanasi and Visakhapatnam.