BHU to use UGC, CSIR NET scores for PhD admission 2024; eligibility criteria

User Profile Image

By admin

Posted on May 15, 2024


2 min read

Whatsapp Facebook LinkedIn

The University Grants Commission National Eligibility Test (UGC NET) and the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research National Eligibility Test (CSIR NET) 2024 scores will be used by Banaras Hindu University (BHU) to determine who gets admitted to PhD programs for the 2024–2025 academic year.

According to BHU, the comprehensive PhD information bulletin 2024 will be made available on the institution’s official website,

The institution declared that starting this year, there will be no further research exam required for BHU PhD admissions. For admission to research programs, Banaras Hindu University suggested interested individuals to apply for the CSIR NET June 2024 or UGC NET June 2024 exams. Universities are now able to use NET scores for PhD admissions thanks to UGC.

In an official notice, BHU stated that it has decided to use the results of the UGC/CSIR NET Examination in June 2024 to admit students to the PhD program for the upcoming academic session. The university will not be conducting a separate research entrance exam, as per the public notification dated March 27 of the University Grants Commission.

Eligibility Criteria 

  • The RET-exempted option will allow the JRF-qualified candidates to be considered.
  • The JRF-qualified candidates as well as the candidates qualified for the categories II and III of the UGC/CSIR NET June 2024 shall be eligible for consideration under the RET mode. 
  • For admission to the PhD programme under RET mode in the Institute of Agricultural Sciences, the score of the Agricultural Services Recruitment Board (ASRB) examination 2024 shall be used.

Research Entrance Test (RET) mode and Research Entrance Test Exempted (RET-Exempted) mode are the two PhD admissions methods that BHU offers, according to information provided. According to BHU, a previous NET score will not be accepted for admission to a PhD program for the next academic year.